All employees involved in the sale of alcoholic beverages must successfully complete alcohol awareness program training within one hundred and eighty (180) days of the date of employment. House Bill 430 eliminates capacity requirements for an applicant from a BWL community performing arts facility for alcoholic beverages. Yes and no. Maryland laws in 1978 allowed a limited number of chain stores to sell beer and wine, subject to county laws. Wholesale club members like Costco, BJ`s, and Sam`s Club are out of luck in Maryland, with DC being the closest retailer. Clear standards for all retail outlets are needed, but you need your help changing outdated laws. Join us and contact your legislator now. The state does not generally regulate the sale of alcohol. However, it prohibits grocery stores from selling beer and wine. Map of alcohol sales in grocery stores, by state. Click here to download.
In July 2011, Maryland`s alcohol tax was raised from 6% to 9% for the first time since the 1970s.  The tax is collected at the consumer level and appears as an item on the customer`s receipt.  In addition to addressing food insecurity, the bill would respond to the wishes of consumers. Data from a survey published by Marylanders for Better Beer and Wine Laws (“MBBWL”) shows that Marylanders favor chain stores selling alcohol in a 2:1 ratio. The survey found that 71 percent of Marylanders support selling beer in grocery stores and 73 percent support selling wine in grocery stores. While only 56% of Marylanders think grocery stores should be able to sell alcohol, this is comparable to the 52% of Marylanders who supported the legalization of table games, which was legalized in Maryland in 2012, and the 57% who support the legalization of recreational marijuana, which is also considered that legislative term. It is a separate offence for a minor to make false statements about their age in order to receive alcohol, or to possess any type of card or document that falsely identifies the person`s age.  A minor who illegally possesses alcohol or false identity papers will not be arrested, and the event is considered a civil offense, meaning it is not considered a criminal conviction and cannot result in a prison sentence per se.
 Indeed, the main reason for the drinking age is that the law does not consider persons under the age of 21 to be responsible enough to consume alcohol without supervision; It would therefore be paradoxical to hold them fully criminally responsible. The governor signed an executive order in 2020 authorizing Maryland wineries to deliver and allowing restaurants to offer takeout alcohol for the duration of the declared state of emergency. The community of Washington Grove is dry. Therefore, there is no legal sale of alcohol in it. House Bill 1288 generally prohibits licensees in certain geographic areas of Baltimore`s 40th Liquor District from selling alcoholic beverages before 10:00 a.m. or after 10:00 p.m. Certain categories of permits are exempt from the limitation of opening hours. The Board may issue a Class B-D-7 licence and a Class C beer, wine and spirits (BWL) licence in the 40th District for alcoholic beverages, as indicated. State law prohibits open containers containing any amount of alcohol in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle.  Similarly, passengers in a vehicle are prohibited from consuming alcohol in the passenger compartment, but the law provides exceptions for non-drivers in the back seat of rental vehicles such as taxis, limousines and buses, as well as in the living spaces of motorhomes. The driver is also protected from prosecution if it is based solely on the fact that another occupant of the vehicle has an open container.
 This law only considers certain parts of a vehicle to be “passenger compartments” and excludes locked glove boxes, trunks and the area behind the rearmost seats if the vehicle does not have a trunk (as is commonly found in vans and SUVs).  Like the possession of minors above, violating the Open Containers Act is a civil offence.  Maryland`s alcohol laws require ignition locks on the vehicles of drivers convicted of these crimes. AGE TO SELL – A person under the age of 18 must not be involved in the sale, service, delivery or handling of alcoholic beverages. The holder of a Class D licence for beer, wine and spirits shall not employ any person under 21 years of age for the sale of alcoholic beverages. A person between the ages of 18 and 21 may engage in the sale, service, delivery or handling of beer and light wine. This means that even a family member under the age of eighteen (18) cannot be involved in the sale or sale of alcoholic beverages. * Prevent alcohol from being served by someone under the legal age Senate Bill 855 / House Bill 323 lifts the prohibition on the board of directors issuing a liquor licence to an establishment within 500 feet of a place of worship. Prior to 1973, the minimum age for purchasing or possessing alcoholic beverages was 21. In 1973, the minimum age in Montgomery and Prince George counties was lowered to 18. In 1974, the minimum age for the entire state was lowered to 18.
In 1982, the minimum age was raised to 21, but with a grandfather clause allowing those who were already 18 (born on 30. June 1964 or earlier), allowed to consume beer and wine.   Although 781 liquor licenses have already been issued for use in Baltimore County, this license is significant. House Bill 1155 authorizes the holder of a Class A license or an employee of the licensee to provide liquor in the county. An employee making a delivery must be at least 18 years old. The delivery person and recipient must sign a form stating that (1) the recipient claims to be 21 years of age and provide the appropriate documents; (2) the recipient knows that the supply of alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age constitutes a criminal offence; and (3) the delivery person has verified the identity of the recipient. A delivery can only be made if the buyer or another person designated by the buyer who is at least 21 years old is physically present to receive the drinks at the place and time of delivery and to pay for the purchase at the time of ordering. A second is that everyone produces alcohol 24/7 in their bodies. And they don`t wait until the age of 21 to do so. After all, many medicines and foods contain alcohol. Even bread does. Thus, setting the level at 0.02% reduces the chances of convicting innocent people.
The Annual General Meeting ends on April 12, 2021. You can follow the legislation for mgaleg.maryland.gov by searching for HB 996 and SB 763. But the laws are no exception for communion wine. This criminalizes many Jewish priests and parents. And it also denies freedom of religion. House Bill 996, sponsored by Delegate Qi, and Senate Bill 763, which supported necessary changes to current alcohol laws, failed in the 2021 legislature. However, efforts to update these laws will continue with future legislative proposals. Not only does Maryland have unique laws on when you can buy alcohol, but it also limits where you can buy alcohol.
The current law allows the purchase of any alcohol in independent stores, and licenses prohibit its sale in most chain stores.